Illinois Concealed Carry 8-Hour Course Detail

 Illinois Concealed Carry 8-Hour Course Detail

The Department will accept up to 8 hours of in-person training already completed toward the 16 hour training requirement as outlined in Section 75 (i) of the Act provided those 8 hours cover the classroom and range subject matter of components #1 through #3. The additional 8 hours of training required by Sections 75 (g) and (i) of the Act will be comprised of components #4 and #5. The individual hourly break down for the required blocks of instruction are recommendations based on the training of a firearms novice. Instructors may tailor their curriculum as needed, provided the listed minimum requirements are delivered.

Price: $115.00 for course and $25.00 for the optional textbook (highly recommended). A $50.00 deposit* is required to hold your seat in the class.

What is included: All classroom instruction, range fees, book (if purchased), target and certificate (upon successful completion).

Sign-up: Candidates must submit a completed, signed registration form and signed waiver along with the $50.00 deposit. The balance will be due prior to the start of the first day of class.

Bring to class: On the first day of class, the student will need to bring the following:

  • Balance of class fees.
  • Proof of prior instruction or military service.
  • Valid FOID card and Illinois Drivers License or State ID.
  • 2 photocopies, each containing FOID and Drivers License.
  • Completed/signed registration form (original).
  • Signed/dated Release Waiver (original).
  • Firearm (The range will rent or you may make arrangements with an instructor prior to class).
  • Ammunition for the live-fire qualification (Recommend 100 rounds).
  • Hearing and eye protection.


All applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm; 4 hours Classroom Recommended

  • The Act relating to the ownership, storage, carry and transportation of a firearm:
  1. with emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/10(h) which includes instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
  2. with emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/65 which includes instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exception.
  • The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et. seq.
  • Relevant portions of the ILCS including but not limited to:

1) 720 ILCS 5/7-1. Use of force in defense of a person**

2) 720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling**

3) 720 ILCS 5/7-3. Use of force in defense of other property**

4) 720 ILCS 24/1 et. seq. Unlawful Use of Weapons**

** Must define dwelling, aggressor, forcible felony and unlawful use of weapons pursuant to the ILCS.

Weapon Handling; 4 hours Recommended

  • Handgun fundamentals
  • Handgun concealment
  • Live fire qualification instruction
  • Live fire qualification with a concealable firearm consisting of minimum of 30 rounds which must include 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police. (See

Concealed Carry Mindset, Gear and General Discussions; 2 hours optional

* CANCELLATION/REFUND POLICY: In cases where P4 Enterprises cancels a class, the deposit is 100% refundable or can be applied toward another class. If applicant/student cancels at least 10 days prior to class, ½ of deposit is NON-REFUNDABLE. If applicant/student cancels within 10 days or does not attend there is NO REFUND. Emergency/Illness cases will be handled on a case by case basis.